Connect with us


Einn góður úr sarpinum – úrslitaleikur Chicago og Olympiacos á McDonaldsleikunum sem haldnir voru í París árið 1997.

McDonaldsleikarnir voru haldnir á árunum 1988 til 1999 þar sem eitt NBA lið mætti nokkrum af bestu liðum evrópu.

The McDonald’s Championship (sometimes called the McDonald’s Open) was an international men’s professional basketball cup competition played between the champions of the continental club competitions and an NBA invitee. The McDonald’s Championship succeeded the FIBA Intercontinental Cup.
In each of the nine years the McDonald’s Championship was held, the title was won by a team from the NBA, but twice by a close margin. The first time was in the semifinals in 1990, when the New York Knicks trailed Italian club Scavolini Pesaro by three points (107-104) with only 30 seconds on the clock. After successfully defending, the Knicks won possession and Gerald Wilkins netted a three-pointer with eight seconds remaining to send the game into overtime. The other close game came the following year in 1991, when the Los Angeles Lakers defeated Spanish champions Joventut Badalona by just two points (116-114).
The McDonald’s Championship was discontinued after 1999.

More in NBA